Reviews

It's hard to get a client to sit down and write a review. Here are a few cases where the customer took the time.

From Home Advisor: (A 5.0 rating is the highest)


05/10/2014
Overall Rating: 5.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by a Homeowner in Boston, MA
Project: Build a New Closet
Comments: Paul did an excellent job building out our closet. We never had to worry about him showing up on time, which can always be a frustration with other carpenters/contractors. He finished the work in a timely manner and was extremely detail oriented. We would absolutely recommend him to others. He also is just a great guy who you feel comfortable having in your house.

08/11/2012
Overall Rating: 5.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by James T. in Cambridge, MA
Project: Install Ceramic or Porcelain Tile
Comments: Paul Norman (of SherpaDog Renovations, Inc.) bid, planned and executed a demanding job within our budget and time constraints. He provided excellent advice about materials and expenditures. He answered our many questions about the job, through from the planning phase to completion. None of our requests or requirements fell outside the scope of his knowledge and abilities. . . Jim Thompson Cambridge, MA

07/20/2011
Overall Rating: 5.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by Marilyn S. in Boston, MA
Project: Repair Indoor Shutters
Comments: Paul Norman was one of the most professional, responsive & skilled contractors with whom we have worked. He was very prompt in contacting us to schedule an appointment & arrived on time. But most importantly, the quality of his work was so excellent that he made us feel very comfortable in referring service magic to friends and using your service in the future. Paul is very professional and skilled and an asset to your service because his manner and skills reflect the vetting that you must perform before recommending your contractors.

04/22/2011
Overall Rating: 5.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by Chris F. in Boston, MA
Project: Install Wood or Stone Laminate Flooring
Comments: Paul is a stand up guy. He helped me with my flooring install. I'd recommend him to anyone needing a flooring job as he is one of the hardest workers I've ever seen.

04/14/2011
Overall Rating: 5.0
Quality: 5.0
Customer Service: 5.0
Value for Money: 5.0
Review by Mark H.
Project: Cabinets - Refinish
Comments: Sherpadog did a very good job, very innovative in the repairs that were done, it was amazing. He was terrific, showed up on time, price was very fair, has great products, did the work in a short time.

From Other Sources


Top Rated
Member: Matthew Budd
114 Brattle St.
CAMBRIDGE, MA 02138
Categories: Carpentry - Woodworking
Furniture - Custom Made
Work Completed Date: October 24, 2013
Hire Again: Yes
Approximate Cost: Several projects with various prices
Description Of Work: Made a lovely table, also made book cases and music stands.

Top Rated
Member: Mae-ellen Gavin
10 University Road
Arlington, MA 02474
Categories: Ceramic Tile
Work Completed Date: December 23, 2013
Hire Again: Yes
Approximate Cost: $2,500.00
Description Of Work: Replaced our kitchen tile which was never put in correctly 5 years ago when we did our kitchen leading to cracked tiles.
Member Comments: Paul did a great job! I'm very happy with the end result; it turned out to not be a very easy job due to having to tile behind a fridge and stove and around an island. Paul worked tirelessly to get everything done for me in time for the Christmas holiday and although the project did run over he managed to complete it just in time--even working over weekends. The quality of the floor is so much improved from what it was and I feel now it will last. The tile I picked had patterns in it and Paul was very meticulous in laying everything out to ensure it would look good before installation. He also made sure we had a good level floor to lay the tile on which has made all the difference.


Top Rated
Member: Michael Sipser
21 Buckingham St
Cambridge, MA 02138
Categories: Carpentry - Woodworking
Doors
Painting - Interior
Windows
Work Completed Date: November 01, 2012
Last Modified Date: October 03, 2013
Hire Again: Yes
Approximate Cost: $1,000.00
Home Build Year: 1900
Description Of Work: Replaced a large, nonstandard window
Member Comments: My old Victorian home had a large 6' x 3' window that needed replacing. On a recommendation, I contracted with Paul at Sherpadog to assess the situation and repair the window. Paul determined that the best way to proceed was to purchase a door that had a window and install that in place of the existing window. He confirmed every step of the way with me and provided an accurate estimate of the total cost. I found him easy to deal with and completely honest. He did all of the installation, carpentry, and painting. I'm very pleased with the result.

Top Rated
Member: Taina Trevino
28 Mitchell St. apt 3
Boston, MA 02127
Category: Painting - Interior
Work Completed Date: July 06, 2013
Hire Again: Yes
Approximate Cost: $800.00
Description Of Work: Paint our bedroom, kitchen living and dining room
Member Comments: Excellent!

Top Rated
Member: James Thompson
4 Ellery St
Cambridge, MA 02138
Categories: Ceramic Tile
Flooring Sales/Installation/Repair
Painting - Interior
Plumbing
Remodeling - Kitchen & Bathroom
Skylights
Work Completed Date: August 31, 2012
Hire Again: Yes
Approximate Cost: $5,934.00
Description Of Work: Installed bathroom ceramic floor tile and installed thresholds. Repaired bath ceramic tile where wall was rotted. Re-plumbed toilet. Installed cartridge kit into tub faucet. Painted entire open plan 3 story condo (all walls, ceilings and curved stairways) including scaffold setup and use to complete detailed work on high entrance and 3rd-story skylight. Installed 2 bathroom faucets. Installed dishwasher. Caulked bathroom and kitchen sink. Repaired kitchen faucet. Caulked all windows.
Member Comments: Paul Norman (of SherpaDog Renovations) bid, planned and executed a demanding job within our budget and time constraints. He provided excellent advice about materials and expenditures. He answered our many questions about the job, through from the planning phase to completion. None of our requests or requirements fell outside the scope of his knowledge and abilities. We would hire him again in a heartbeat.

Top Rated
Member: Heather Herbst
32 2nd St
#2
Cambridge, MA 02141
Categories: Ceramic Tile
Marble & Granite
Work Completed Date: February 15, 2013
Hire Again: Yes
Approximate Cost: $5,000.00
Home Build Year: 1838
Description Of Work: Installed new cement board and retiled our bathroom
Member Comments: We shattered a stone tile a few months before, which led us down the road of a full retiling effort of both our bathroom floor and entire shower stall. During the initial demolition phase, Paul discovered that the backing cement board was very poorly done by the previous owner and was able to replace that as well and did a great job. This caused the job to take longer than expected and led to quite a lot of dust / debris throughout the master bedroom adjoining the bathroom.
However, the final output more than speaks for itself, it looks great and is a solid piece of workmanship, Paul takes great pride in his work and makes sure the job is done "right". Paul was always courteous and kept us informed about the status of the project, tricky spots he was having to deal with (we have a home from the 1830's, so nothing is easy) and possible workarounds.

Top Rated
Member: Matthew Budd
114 Brattle St.
CAMBRIDGE, MA 02138
Categories: Carpentry - Woodworking
Furniture - Custom Made
Work Completed Date: February 01, 2012
Hire Again: Yes
Approximate Cost: $1,900.00
Description Of Work: Excellent design and craft work in making 2 pieces for a high end home.
Member Comments: I contacted Mr. Norman, told him what I wanted. He submitted designs and we modified them in conversation.
Then he showed me woods and we chose some, built the works, and then discussed the final finishes which he did cleanly.
The entire process was a joy and I am totally satisfied.
I checked around for the retail prices of similar quality furniture ..considerably more.

Top Rated
Member: Boris Yamnitsky
20 Damon Drive
Woods Hole, MA 02210
Category: Marble & Granite
Services Performed: Yes
Work Completed Date: May 31, 2012
Hire Again: Yes
Home Build Year: 1890
Description Of Work: install white Grecian marble tiles in a large 200 sf sun room of a house.
Member Comments: Paul was very attentive to details, easy to work with. The job took a bit longer than expected because introduction of some design elements and running out of marble tiles toward the end of the project but overall, it was performed in a timely manner, professionally and courteously. I would not hesitate to hire Paul again for a tile job.

Top Rated
Category:  Painting - Interior
Work Completed Date:  July 06, 2013
Hire Again:  Yes
Approximate Cost:  $800.00
Description Of Work:  Paint our bedroom, kitchen living and dining room
Member Comments:  Excellent!